top of page
  • josutherstphotography

Final Major Project: Retouching Experiment

Following on from my previous post into Esther Honig’s ‘Before and After’ project, I sent an unaltered image of myself to various retouchers and image editors around the world. Their instruction “Make me more appealing for Instagram”.

Some were carried out as free trials, whilst others I had to pay for. Whether or not an edit has been paid for does not seem to have affected the quality or extent of the edits.


The results are insightful and somewhat intriguing. Each edit offers a glimpse into both the personal and cultural concepts of beauty that their creator has. The edits look as thought thay have been carried out quite crudely in some cases. For example, the editor from Bangladesh has artifically over edited whites of my eyes. They do not look real and it is very obvious that the image has been edited.


Others have dramatically changed the shape and size of my face – Canada in particular.


The editing of some images is subtle, whilst others look doll-like and artificial. The skin has been over smoothed and edited a lot (on close inspection, the skin can have the texture of orange peel due to the extensive editing)

I have found this exercise quite amusing. Initially I was concerned by what would be sent back, but now that I have the images I am fascinated by the differences.

Photoshop and phone apps allow us to achieve unobtainable standards of beauty in our selfies. However, if we look at the global standards for beauty and compare ourselves to those, achieving the ideal remains all the more elusive.


The resultant images are below:

1- ORIGINAL

ORIGINAL


Aftershoot

LONDON – FREE TRIAL


color experts production

BANGLADESH – FREE TRIAL


Colorspit 1

INDIA – FREE TRIAL


Colorspit 2

MEXICO – FREE TRIAL


Deepetch

AUSTRALIA – FREE TRIAL


Essential Edit

CALIFORNIA – FREE TRIAL


Fix the photo

NEW YORK – PAID EDIT $10


fotoenchanter1

INDIA – PAID EDIT $8


fotoenchanter2

INDIA – PAID EDIT $8


GraphicExpertsIndia

CANADA – FREE TRIAL


Photofix

TEXAS – PAID EDIT $7


Portrait 101

HUNGARY – PAID EDIT $5


rephotosolution

VIETNAM – FREE TRIAL


TUCIA

CHINA – PAID EDIT $6


Uretouch

INDIA – FREE TRIAL

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Major Project: FMP and CRP Format Decisions

To maintain the consistency across my work, I decided to use the sans serif font Proxima Nova across all documents. Due to my previous research into Instagram fonts, I chose this font for my booklet,

Final Major Project: Selected by…

As part of the Source Graduate Online Photography 2018, Source commission a number of respected figures from the world of photography. These selectors choose their favourite sets of images from all th

Final Major Project: Taken its Toll?

Addison’s Disease means that at times I suffer from fatigue, muscle pain, and have trouble concentrating at times. Taking on the MA whilst working full time has been a huge challenge. The Falmouth Fle

bottom of page